the place of the long rapids

Kay-Nah-Chi-Wah-Nung was declared a National Historic Site in 1969. Encompassing close to four kilometers of shoreline, today’s archaeologists now know that the Place of the Long Rapids was once home to numerous villages and campsites, as well as at least 17 burial mounds. Home to the Ojibway people in the past century, the site was home to the Long Sault Reserve from the time of the signing of Treaty No. 3 in 1873 until 1914. The site contains evidence of house structures, trails, gardens, and associated activities.

View More

Events calendar

Find out what’s going on at Kay-Nah-Chi-Wah-Nung Historical Centre and the community of Rainy River First Nations!

Launch Calendar

The visitors centre

Explore Kay-Nah-Chi-Wah-Nung Historical Centre's interpretive galleries, gift shop, aquarium, restaurant, and other amenities!

View More

Facility rentals

Consider our facilities for your upcoming event. From business meetings, conferences, and weddings to team building activities!

View More

Guided tours

Book a guided tour of the mounds and our outdoor trails, as well as inside the Centre by trained heritage interpreters.

Book Now